Skip to main content
State of Vermont Judiciary
Contact Us
Court Information
External Web
Judicial Community
Legal Information
Public Education
Representing Yourself
You are here ► State of Vermont Judiciary > Court Information > Supreme Court 
Go Search


Vermont Supreme Court

Justices' Biographies

Vermont Supreme Court

Honorable Paul L. Reiber, Chief Justice, of Chittenden, Vermont was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on June 20, 1947 and became a resident of Vermont in 1976. He graduated Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden-Sydney, Virginia (B.A., 1970); and Suffolk Law School, Boston, Massachusetts (J.D., 1974). He is married to the former Sandra Sherburne, and they have two daughters. He served in the private practice of law in Rutland and as a partner in the law firm Kenlan, Schweibert & Facey from 1986 until his appointment as an Associate Justice by Governor James Douglas in October, 2003. He was sworn in as Chief Justice of the Vermont Supreme Court by Governor Douglas on December 17, 2004.

Honorable John A. Dooley, Associate Justice, of South Burlington, Chittenden County, was born in Nashua, New Hampshire on April 10, 1944. He was educated in elementary schools in Nashua, New Hampshire; Nashua High School; Union College, Schenectady, New York (B.E.E., 1965); Boston College Law School (LL.B., 1968). He previously served as Secretary of Administration, State of Vermont, 1985-87; President, Vermont Bar Association. Appointed Associate Justice of the Vermont Supreme Court, June 12, 1987.

Honorable Marilyn S. Skoglund, Associate Justice, of Montpelier, Washington County, was born in Chicago, Illinois and became a resident of Vermont in 1973 and has resided in her present town since 1983. She attended elementary and high school in St. Louis, Missouri and graduated from Southern Illinois University in Carbondale, Illinois (B.A., 1971). She worked in the Office of the Attorney General as: Special Assistant Attorney General (1978-1981); Assistant Attorney General (1981-1989); Chief of the Civil Law Division (1989-1993); Chief of Public Protection Division (1993-1994). She was appointed to the District Court in 1994, and was sworn in as an Associate Justice of the Vermont Supreme Court on August 27, 1997.

Honorable Beth Robinson, Associate Justice, of Addison County was born in 1965 and raised in Indiana.  She received a B.A. from Dartmouth College in 1986 and a J.D. from the University of Chicago Law School in 1989. She clerked for the Hon. David B. Sentelle of the United States Court of Appeals for the D .C. Circuit (1989-1990), practiced in the law firm of Langrock Sperry & Wool for 18 years (1993-2010) and served as Counsel to Governor Shumlin for one year (2011) before Governor Shumlin appointed her to the Vermont Supreme Court as an Associate Justice on November 28, 2011. 

Honorable Harold E. Eaton, Jr., Associate Justice, of Woodstock, Windsor County, was born in Windsor, Vermont on August 25, 1955. He attended elementary school in Woodstock, Vermont; Woodstock Union High School; University of Vermont (B.S. Ed. 1977); Vermont Law School (J.D., cum laude, 1980). He was a Deputy State's Attorney, Chittenden County (1980-1982); Chief Deputy State's Attorney, Chittenden County (1982-1983). He was in the private practice of law in Rutland from 1983-1991. He was a partner in the Woodstock firm of Eaton & Hayes from 1991-2004. He is a member of the American Law Institute. On April 16, 2004 he was appointed to the Superior Court by Governor James Douglas. On October 27, 2014 he was sworn in as an Associate Justice of the Vermont Supreme Court by Governor Peter Shumlin.