Vermont Judicial Bureau
Frequently Asked Questions
If you deny the violation a hearing shall be held before a hearing officer and conducted in an impartial manner. The burden of proof shall be on the state or municipality to prove the allegations by clear and convincing evidence. 4 V.S.A. §1106
A decision of the hearing officer may be appealed to the Superior Court, Criminal Division. The proceeding before the Criminal Division shall be on the record, or at the option of the defendant, de novo. If you wish a trial by jury, you must request this in writing. An appeal shall stay payment of a penalty but not the imposition of points. 4 V.S.A. §1107
A non-refundable $120 filing fee for an appeal must be submitted with your written appeal. If you are unable to pay the filing fee, you may file an application to waive the filing fee form #228. Contact the Judicial Bureau for the appropriate form. 32 V.S.A. §1431(g)
You may request an extension of time to pay a fine. Your request must be in writing and signed. The request must include your name, address, DOB, phone number, complaint number, and the reason why an extension of time to pay is needed. A minimum partial payment of $30 must be included with your request. An extension of time to pay will not be granted without a minimum partial payment of $30.00.
Mail your request to the Vermont Judicial Bureau, PO Box 607, White River Junction, VT 05001. To avoid late fees a request for an extension of time to pay must reach the court on or before your due date.
For your convenience, you may use court form #423, Request for Extension of Time to Pay Fine, by clicking here.