Skip to main content
State of Vermont Judiciary
Contact Us
Court Information
External Web
Judicial Community
Legal Information
Public Education
Representing Yourself
You are here ► State of Vermont Judiciary > Judicial Community > MasterPages > Committees-probateoversight 
Go Search


Boards and Committees of the Vermont Supreme Court

Probate Division Oversight Committee

Vermont Supreme Court

This thirteen member committee:

  • Identifies docket areas in which procedures lack statewide uniformity

  • Receives and reviews requests from any member of the Judiciary, Legislature, Judicial Rules Committee,  or a Legal Association for assistance with issues concerning Probate Division

  • Makes recommendations to the Supreme Court regarding statutory revisions or additions, amendments probate division rules, implementation of procedures for docketing, calendaring, scheduling and case flow management, restructuring of court practices and procedures and adoption of policies



Vicki Harty, Administrative Assistant

Office of Administrative Judge for Trial Courts
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609-0701



collapse  Chair
Hon. Joanne Ertel, Probate Judge, Chair, and Member of the Probate Rules Committee
collapse  Court Administrator's Designee
Shari Young, Esq.
collapse  Full Member
Hon. Brian J. Grearson, Chief Superior Judge
Hon. James R. Dean Mahoney, Probate Judge
collapse  Liaison from Supreme Court
Hon. Marilyn S. Skoglund, Associate Justice
collapse  Three Year Term
Hon. Thomas J. Devine, Superior Judge
Probate Judge - Vacancy
Anne Damone, Superior Court Clerk
Margaret Villeneuve, Caledonia and Essex Units; Court Operations Manager
Probate Register - Vacancy
Suzanne Bushee, Probate Register
Nancy Brieden, Esq, Attorney Member
Norman C. Smith, Esq., Attorney Member