Skip to main content
State of Vermont Judiciary
Court Information
Judicial Community
Legal Information
Contact Us
Public Education
Representing Yourself
You are here ► State of Vermont Judiciary > Judicial Community > MasterPages > committee-fairnessandaccess 
Go Search


Boards and Committees  of the Vermont Supreme Court

Fairness and Equal Access to Justice Committee

Vermont Supreme Court

This 25 person committee identifies and works to prevent and eliminate the effects of bias in the Vermont court system. It specifically examines any discrimination on the basis of race, sex, religion, national origin, disability, age, sexual orientation or socioeconomic status. The committee recommends to the Supreme Court programs and protocols for education and training efforts and any other actions needed to ensure fairness and equal access to justice in the courts. A major focus has been ensuring the availability of qualified linguistic, cognitive, and sign (for hearing impaired persons) interpreters. In addition the committee is exploring the reasons for the over-representation of minorities in prisons.


Hon. Denise Johnson, Chair
Vermont Supreme Court
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609-0701



Hon. Denise R. Johnson, Chair
Hon. Katherine A. Hayes
Robert Appel, Esq.
Amy Fitzgerald, Esq.
Barbara Prine, Esq.
Anna Saxman, Esq.
Robert Sheil, Esq.