The Family Division Oversight Committee is an advisory board to the Vermont Supreme Court. This committee makes recommendations to the court about administrative and judicial matters in the family division. Its work helps to promote the vision of the Vermont Judiciary for a fair, well-managed, and impartial court system. Issues the committee reviews include:

  • Changes or additions to family statutes and rules
  • Efficiency in scheduling, calendaring, and case-flow management in the courthouses
  • Improvements to family division policy, procedures, and forms
  • Concerns about the division from members of the judiciary, legislature, judicial rules committee, and legal associations.

The sixteen members of the committee serve three-year terms.

Committee Members

Honorable Thomas A. Zonay

Chief Superior Judge

Honorable Nancy J. Waples

Associate Justice, Liaison from Supreme Court

Tari Scott

Chief of Trial Court Operations, Court Administrator's Designee

Honorable Lisa A. Warren

Superior Judge, Chair

Honorable Howard Kalfus

Superior Judge

Honorable Heather Gray

Superior Judge

Honorable Alicia Humbert 


Honorable Kirstin K. Schoonover

Superior Judge

Margaret Villeneuve

Superior Court Clerk

Wendy Dickie

Court Operations Manager

Margaret Crowley

Family Division Case Manager

Sally Carruthers

Family Division Case Manager

Jennifer Agnew, Esq.

Attorney Designee

Susan M. Ellwood, Esq.

Attorney Designee, Family Rules Member

Boolie Sluka, Esq.

Attorney Designee

Bailey Mills

Court Operations Manager


Contact Information

Kelly Smith, Program Administrator
Office of Chief Superior Judge
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609