## Vermont Judiciary Commission on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee Structure

The following committees are established to advance the Commission's work.

## **Administration and Operations Committee**

The Administration and Operations Committee (AOC) will examine the Judiciary's administrative and operational policies to assess possible disparate equity impact(s) in their design or implementation and make recommendations to the Commission regarding ways to improve administration and operations from a DEI perspective.

In undertaking this work, the AOC will review the DEI-related operations of other states' administrative office of the courts, including the Massachusetts Judiciary's Trial Court Office of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Experience, the New Jersey Supreme Court's Committee on Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement, and the work of other offices and programs that may come to the AOC's attention. The AOC will also consider whether to participate in the piloting of the organizational assessment tool being developed by the National Center for State Courts as part of the work being done through the Blueprint for Racial Justice initiative.

Examples of the practices and policies to be reviewed include, but are not limited to the following:

- New employee recruitment, screening, and selection
- Employee and judge training
- Jury operations
- The design of court programs and the delivery of court services
- Internal and external communications and reporting
- Judiciary strategic planning

The AOC will be chaired by Justice Nancy Waples\* and include the following members:

- Scott Griffith\*
- Judge Mary Morrissey
- Rebecca Turner
- Margaret Villeneuve
- John Campbell

## **Data Committee**

The Data Committee (DC) will examine the existence and use of Judiciary data related to race, gender, and ethnicity and make recommendations to the Commission regarding ways to improve the acquisition, accuracy, and utility of key data to advance the Commission's goals.

In undertaking this work, the DC will review the Judiciary's data systems and its data planning, governance, sharing, and reporting practices. In addition, the DC will review research from the Council of State Governments, the Crime Research Group, and other entities that have conducted empirical research on the Vermont justice system. The DC will also consult experts in the area of data-driven practices that are likely to advance the Committee's DEI goals.

The DC will be chaired by Justice William Cohen\* and include the following members:

- Scott Griffith\*
- Judge Alison Arms
- Julie Bronson
- Rebecca Turner

## **Community Engagement Committee**

The Community Engagement Committee (CEC) will focus its efforts on creating a dialogue with the public that will help increase the community's understanding of the judiciary; enable court leaders to gain an understanding of how it is viewed by the community; and deepen partnerships with community stakeholder groups.

The CEC will oversee the creation of an "Equal Justice Committee" in each county that will hold a forum at which the issues being taken up by the Commission will be discussed. The CEC will propose a structure for conducting the public forums and collect, review, and summarize the feedback received at them. The DC will also make recommendations to the Commission regarding how to improve its public image and its operations, as appropriate, from a community-based DEI perspective.

In undertaking this work, the CEC will review the experience of other states' administrative office of the courts, including the <u>Minnesota Judicial Branch's Community Dialogue Initiative</u> and the <u>Maryland Judiciary's Community Outreach Listening Sessions</u>, and the work of other offices and programs that may come to the CEC's attention.

The CEC will be chaired by Chief Justice Paul Reiber\* and include the following members:

- Chief Superior Judge Thomas Zonay\*
- Scott Griffith\*
- Xusana Davis
- Robert Fletcher
- Erin Jacobsen

<sup>\*</sup>Executive Committee Member