About the Committee

The Supreme Court adopts the rules of practice and procedure for all state courts. The Supreme Court appoints advisory committees to assist in keeping the rules up-to-date. The tasks of the Advisory Committee on the Rules for Electronic Filing include:

  • Reviewing the operation and effectiveness of the Rules for Electronic Filing
  • Developing and proposing amended rules governing procedures for electronic filing
  • Sending proposed rules to the bar and public for comment and, when required, holding public hearings on proposed rules or rule changes
  • Receiving comments

Once a proposal has been sent out for comment, the committee may make further changes or recommend that the Supreme Court adopt the change. The Supreme Court is responsible for putting any amendment into effect. 

Committee Members

Honorable John A. Dooley

Chair, Associate Justice (Ret.)

Honorable Nancy J. WaplesAssociate Justice, Liaison from Supreme Court
Emily Wetherell, Esq.Deputy Clerk and Staff Attorney, Reporter 
Honorable Rory ThibaultSuperior Judge
Honorable Thomas S. DurkinSuperior Judge
Honorable David FensterSuperior Judge
Honorable Megan ShafritzSuperior Judge
Marcia SchelsChief Technology Innovation Officer
Chasity Stoots-FonbergTechnology Project Manager
Laura LaRosaPrograms Manager, Trial Court Operations
Michelle McDonaldCourt Operations Manager
Elizabeth Kruska, Esq.Executive Director, Vermont Bar Association
David Koeninger, Esq.Member
Steven Brown, Esq.State's Attorney Designee
Jordana Levine, Esq.Defender General's Designee

Contact Information

Advisory Committee on the Rules for Electronic Filing
Vermont Supreme Court
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609