About the Committee

The Supreme Court adopts the rules of practice and procedure for all state courts. The Supreme Court appoints advisory committees to assist in keeping the rules up-to-date. The tasks of the Advisory Committee on Rules of Probate Procedure include:

  • Reviewing the operation and effectiveness of the probate rules
  • Receiving proposals to change rules or adopt new rules
  • Making proposals to change rules or adopt new rules and sending these proposals to the Supreme Court
  • Sending proposed rules to the bar and public for comment and, when required, holding public hearings on proposed rules or rule changes
  • Receiving comments

Once a proposal has been sent out for comment, the committee may make further changes or may recommend that the Supreme Court adopt the change. The Supreme Court is responsible for promulgating any amendment

The committee includes:

  • Three probate judges
  • A trust officer
  • The chair of the Vermont Bar Association’s corresponding standing committee
  • Six other members appointment by the Supreme Court

The Supreme Court designates the chair of the committee. The Supreme Court also appoints a reporter for the committee. The reporter revises or drafts rules at the request of the committee or the Supreme Court. The reporter's notes, which are published in the rules, explain the history and application of the rules.

Committee Members

Honorable Jeffrey Kilgore

Probate Judge, Chair

Honorable William D. Cohen

Associate Justice, Liaison from Supreme Court

Honorable Joanne Ertel

Probate Judge (Ret.), Reporter

Mark Langan, Esq.

VBA Member

Honorable Kathryn A.C. Kennedy

Probate Judge

Honorable Fred Glover

Probate Judge

Amy Menard, Esq.


Daniel Kimbell

Trust Officer

Michael S. Gawne, Esq.


Brian Hesselbach

Probate Register

Justin Sheng, Esq.


Norman C. Smith, Esq.


Matthew Getty, Esq.


Contact Information

Honorable Jeffrey Kilgore, Chair
Washington Probate Division
65 State Street
Montpelier, VT  05602