The Justice Reinvestment II Working Group was established by the Governor in Executive Order 03-19 in July 2019. Act 148 (SB 338), enacted in July 2020, expands the purview of the working group to oversee the implementation of Justice Reinvestment II policy changes and adds an additional member to the committee.

The Justice Reinvestment II Working Group will work with the Council of State Governments to conduct a review of programming, transitional services and population trends in Vermont’s correctional facilities. The review may include an evaluation of the women’s corrections population in Vermont and the programming and services to meet their needs, the detention population and barriers that exist to reducing the corrections population.

Working Group Members

Paul L. ReiberChief Justice, Vermont Supreme Court (Chair, as established by EO 03-19)
Jim BakerInterim Commissioner, Department of Corrections
John CampbellExecutive Director, Department of State’s Attorneys and Sheriffs
Xusana DavisExecutive Director, Racial Equity
Kelly DoughertyDeputy Commissioner, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs, Department of Health
Alice EmmonsState Representative, Windsor-3-2 District
Patricia Gabel, Esq.Court Administrator, Vermont Supreme Court
Maxine GradState Representative, Washington-7 District
Jaye JohnsonLegal Counsel, Governor’s Office
James “Duff” LyallExecutive Director, ACLU of Vermont
Christopher HerrickDeputy Commissioner, Department of Public Safety
Alice NitkaState Senator, Windsor District
David ScherrCo-Chief of Community Justice Division, Attorney General’s Office
Dick SearsState Senator, Bennington District
Kendal SmithDirector of Policy Development and Legislative Affairs, Governor’s Office
Sarah SquirrellCommissioner, Department of Mental Health
Karen Tronsgard-ScottExecutive Director, Vermont Network Against Domestic and Sexual Violence
Matthew ValerioDefender General
MaryJane AinsworthDirector, Parole Board