***NOTICE***: In light of possible cancellations/rescheduling of CLE programming due to COVID-19 concerns, the Office of Attorney Licensing wants to emphasize that any reasonable request for an extension of time to complete the first-year CLE requirement will be granted. Also, please remember that "live" programming includes non-recorded programming presented via electronic means, such as webinars and teleseminars.
In addition to mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) requirements that all attorneys are subject to, newly admitted attorneys must complete 15 hours of specially approved continuing legal education courses on Vermont practice and procedure. A minimum of 9 of those 15 CLE hours must be earned by attendance at programs delivered either as Moderated Programming or Non-Moderated Programming with Interactivity as a Key Component, as those terms are defined in the Vermont Rules for Mandatory Continuing Legal Education. The 15 hours must be completed no earlier than 1 year before, and no later than 1 year after, admission to the bar. Note that courses taken to satisfy the first-year CLE requirement will count toward the MCLE requirement during your first reporting period. For more information on MCLE requirements, visit the Mandatory Continuing Legal Education page.
The Vermont Bar Association (VBA) has been authorized to provide courses specially approved to satisfy the first-year CLE requirement. The VBA’s list of approved live and prerecorded courses can be found here:
You must certify completion of the first-year continuing legal education requirement by submitting a Certification of Completion with First-Year CLE Requirements through the Attorney Portal. (If you have not yet registered with the Portal and verified your bar number there, you will need to do so prior to submitting the Certification of Completion.) Failure to file a Certification of Completion within one year of admission will result in administrative suspension of your license to practice law.
If you are admitted by examination or transferred UBE score, you must also complete a six-month mentorship with a judge or attorney admitted to the Vermont bar for at least three years. The mentorship must be completed within the first year after admission. As part of the mentorship, you must meet regularly with your supervising judge or attorney no less than 10 times to discuss your practice and issues relevant to Vermont practice and procedure. You must also engage in at least 40 hours of activities on the Mentorship Program Checklist.
You must certify completion of the first-year mentorship requirement by submitting a Certification of Completion of Mentorship through the Attorney Portal. (If you have not yet registered with the Portal and verified your bar number there, you will need to do so prior to submitting the Certification of Completion.) Prior to going to the Portal to submit the Certification of Completion, you will need to have your supervising judge or attorney complete the Supervisor’s Certification of Completion with Mentorship:
You will be required to upload the completed Supervisor's Certification and Mentorship Checklist as part of the Certification of Completion. Failure to file the Certification of Completion within one year of admission will result in administrative suspension of your license to practice law.
If you achieved a passing score on the July 2016, February 2017, or July 2017 Vermont bar exam, you may be able to use a previously-completed clerkship to satisfy the mentorship requirement. For more information, please review the Transitional Policy on Clerkships:
Interested in serving as a mentor for a newly admitted attorney? Contact Licensing Counsel Andrew Strauss at JUD.AttyLicensing@vermont.gov.