The Justice for Children Task Force identifies barriers in the child welfare system that may keep foster children in foster care for longer than necessary. The Task Force works to remove these barriers, and to increase the likelihood of children finding safe, permanent homes as quickly as possible.

About the Board

The Justice for Children Task Force brings together leaders from groups working to improve the lives of children in foster care. Together, Task Force members create solutions to remove barriers that keep children in foster care longer than necessary, getting the children into permanent, safe homes as quickly as possible. These solutions must also safeguard the legal rights of everyone involved.

The Task Force implements reforms and reports on its work. Recommendations are submitted to the Vermont Supreme Court when appropriate.

Board Members



Honorable Paul L. Reiber

Supreme Court Chief Justice, Chair

Honorable Marilyn S. Skoglund

Supreme Court Associate Justice (Ret.)

Honorable Karen R. Carroll

Supreme Court Associate Justice

Honorable Thomas A. Zonay

Chief Superior Judge

Honorable Thomas J. Devine

Superior Court Judge

Honorable Eleanor Smith

Probate Judge

Patricia Gabel, Esq.

State Court Administrator

Al Gobeille

Secretary, Agency of Human Services

Kenneth Schatz

Commissioner, DCF

Karen Shea

Deputy Commissioner, DCF Family Services

Matthew F. Valerio

Defender General

Melissa Bailey

Deputy Commissioner, Department of Mental Health

Marshall Pahl

Juvenile Defender, Office of Defender General

Pamela A. Marsh

Juvenile Public Defender

Kerry McDonald-Cady

Windham County Deputy State's Attorney

Tari Scott

Chief of Trial Court Operations

Jane Kitchel

State Senator

Kate Lucier

Assistant Attorney General

Barbara Cimaglio

Deputy Commissioner, Department of Health's Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs

Maureen Martin, Esq.

Assigned Counsel

Rob Post

Guardian ad Litem Program Manager

Kevin Christie

State Representative/Guardian ad Litem

Contact Information

Chief Justice Paul L. Reiber, Chair
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609-0701